Opposing the Supreme Court of Canada Assisted Suicide Decision

On February 6, the Supreme Court of Canada made an irresponsible and dangerous decision by decriminalizing assisted death. The EPC Board decided that the Federal government must invoke the notwithstanding clause to protect people with disabilitieselders who live with abuse, depressed and suicidal people and other people.

Please write a letter to Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Justice Minister Peter MacKay and your Member of Parliament or sign the online petition calling for the Protection of vulnerable Canadians from assisted suicide.

Letter writing is effective, but if you only want a message sent to the government then please  sign the online petition.

Your letter should state:
To the Hon... or (Member of Parliament):

Parliament must continue to protect people with disabilties, elders, people who live with depression or suicidal ideation, and other people from assisted suicide. 
This must be done through the use of the Notwithstanding clause. 
I am concerned ... (add a comment related to one of the eight talking points). 
Yours Sincerely (Name).

 Talking Points:

  1. People with disabilities oppose assisted suicide.
  2. Assisted suicide debate masks disability prejudice.
  3. Assisted suicide has devalued the lives of the elderly in Washington State.
  4. United Nations: Abuse of older women overlooked and under-reported.
  5. Depressed mother died by euthanasia in Belgium.
  6. Supreme court allows assisted suicide for depressed people.
  7. Suicide rate in Oregon continues to increase faster than the national average.
  8. Suicide prevention at odds with assisted suicide.

Letter writing campaign - Contact information:

The Right Honourable Stephen Harper
Office of the Prime Minister
80 Wellington St.
Ottawa ON K1A 0A2 (No stamp necessary)
Fax: 613-941-6900

The Honourable Peter Gordon MacKay
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
House of Commons
Ottawa ON K1A 0A6 (No stamp necessary)
Fax: 613-954-0811

Your Member of Parliament (Name) MP
House of Commons
Ottawa ON K1A 0A6 (No stamp necessary)
(Link to Members of Parliament